News from the UC Sustainability Office

Rising Star Q & A: Kelli Campbell (June 2014)

Leave a comment

The Rising Star column profiles students who have had close contact with the UC Sustainability Office and have graduated from UC, or will graduate very soon. In this column they share what they are currently doing and what their plans are for the future.

May’s ‘Rising Star’ is Kelli Campbell, an ex-summer scholarship student of the Sustainability Office.Kelli Campbell

What did you qualify in? When were you at UC?
Master of Science with first class honours in geography. From 2009 to 2013.

How did your degree prepare you to think about sustainability issues?
Geography looks at how humans interact with the environment so it provides you with an understanding of both the physical aspect of nature and the systems that take place as well as looking at how humans impact this.

How has the UC Sustainability Office contributed to your experience of the UC Campus?
It made my experience amazing! I got to work at the Sustainability Office while I studied and I met so many fantastic people who each had their own passion. I worked alongside these people gaining knowledge and understanding of many different fields of sustainability.

I started out with a summer scholarship where I investigated sustainable transport routes to and around the University of Canterbury. I then was offered a part time job helping out and creating events around the campus. Working with my colleagues at the Sustainability Office, we created exciting events that got people involved in sustainability.

What was your favourite ‘sustainability moment’ on campus?
I hosted a number of events while I worked at the office. This was something I never thought I could do. Cycle Runway is one of my proudest achievements although I still have a mild panic attack when I think about it. It was a sustainable fashion show on bikes.
The event showcased that cycling doesn’t need to a hassle and you can jump on a bike in any gear that you are wearing from dresses to suits. At the end of Cycle Runway we showed a video by one of the designers, it encompassed the freedom and excitement that can come from cycling and was about following your dreams. Afterwards, everyone seemed enthused and inspired and that was a pretty amazing feeling.

If you could wave a wand, what would a sustainable University of Canterbury campus look like?

Less car parks and more cyclists, pedestrians and bus users. Edible plants and water fountains around the campus.

In five/ten years time, what would you like to be doing?
I’d like to be creating something – I have no idea what!

For more information on Kelli’s research and other research done through the Sustainability Office, check here.

Author: Puck Algera - UC Sustainability Office

Puck worked at the Sustainability Office at the University of Canterbury in New Zealand. As the Sustainability Projects Coordinator, she kept busy with student and staff engagement, providing strategic input and advice and organising sustainability-focused events.

Leave a Reply

