News from the UC Sustainability Office

Rising Star Q&A Kate Walsh

Leave a comment

The Rising Star column profiles students who have had close contact with the UC Sustainability Office and have graduated from UC, or will graduate very soon. In this column they share what they are currently doing and what their plans are for the future.

This edition’s Rising Star is Kate Walsh, who did an internship at the Sustainability Office focused on understanding students’ access of healthy and affordable food  and is now living in Melbourne.

When were you at UC? What did you qualify in?  I studied at UC from 2013 to 2015 and graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Geography.

What have you been doing since you graduated? I have recently moved to Melbourne! It is the world’s most livable city and I wanted to experience that! While I was at University I watched a movie called The Human Scale. It explored how people relate to their cities and public spaces. An example was the re-energizing of Melbourne’s laneways – something that has really drawn me to this city. The public transport and cycling infrastructure is great, the markets are fantastic and there is always something happening. I recently visited CERES Community Environment Park – such an interesting and exciting place.

What are you doing in your current job? What are you most excited about?I am currently working for a social enterprise in Melbourne. It provides homeless and marginalized youth with a supported pathway from the streets to a sustainable job in the hospitality industry through youth programs and experience in cafes. I am excited to learn more about how the hospitality industry can address issues in society and actively do something about it.

What did you do with/for the Sustainability Office? I completed an internship in my final semester with the sustainability office and the food resilience network. My project was to understand students’ access to healthy and nutritious food. I also went to them to ask for advice and to talk about other projects and they were always so helpful and positive about what I was doing. (For an idea of the work Kate was involved in, see here.)

How has the UC Sustainability Office contributed to your thinking and/or skill development in relation to sustainability? They always challenged me. While I always left the offices with more to think about and research, it was always exciting and interesting.

Do you have a favourite ‘sustainability moment’ on campus? The Student Food Forum that I organised as part of my project to understand students access to healthy and affordable food. This involved getting speakers, gathering student’s views and organizing all the things that go into managing an event – including a free lunch! I learnt a lot about research processes and communication as I had to talk to a lot of people and get them involved. I feel that this project gave me a lot of transferable skills that have helped me a lot so far since leaving The University of Canterbury and that I know will continue to help me in the future.

Check here for more about how to get involved with Sustainability at UC. For more information about food resilience and Edible Canterbury, check out the the Edible Canterbury Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/ediblecanterbury or their website http://www.edible.org.nz

 

Author: Puck Algera - UC Sustainability Office

Puck worked at the Sustainability Office at the University of Canterbury in New Zealand. As the Sustainability Projects Coordinator, she kept busy with student and staff engagement, providing strategic input and advice and organising sustainability-focused events.

Leave a Reply

